IF IT’S FRIDAY IT MUST BE MASH

There was a lot of Christmas stories around this week. I guess that was because it’s nearly Christmas!

My favourite was at Auguste McLaughlin’s blog where she fessed up about stealing Jesus when she was a teenager – and the little Christmas miracle that followed. Wonderful. You can read about how this abject sinner found redemption right here.

But just being religious doesn’t mean you’re necessarily good. I found this over at Lynette Burrows blog; two churches going to war over whether dogs have souls or not. 
This intense theological debate takes place on the signboards outside. See for yourself:

http://tithenai.tumblr.com/post/3215186237/two-churches-located-across-the-street-from-each-other

Personally I think dogs do have souls. In fact, I think they’re actually in charge. After all, you don’t see them picking up our poo after us and putting it in plastic bags, do you?

So thanks for finding that one Lynette. See her blog right here.http://lynettemburrows.com/lynettesblog/

Carol wrote in a comment about my car insurance blog, (DRIVING INTO A COAL SACK), telling me that she found it hard to read in the office because she was laughing so hard. What would have happened if Carol had let the giggles out? Perhaps something like this, as reported on the news this week:

This apparently happened on a subway train in Berlin. Laughter, like yawning, seems to be naturally infectious, and if you watch these two babies going at it, you’ll see what I mean.

Thanks to Kellianne Sweeney at her blog right here, for sharing that one with us.  

 http://blogkelliannesweeneydeardiary.wordpress.com/2011/12/10/wheres-the-baby/

Can you imagine life without Facebook, Twitter or a Smartphone? Scarily enough, neither can I any more. And I think this graphic at socialmedia says it all:
And here’s something I can’t get my head around. In the news this week: the big new thing in Indonesia – CHEESE TIM TAMS. Apparently they love them. Really? But then last time I was in New York I couldn’t even bring myself to try an Oreos Pizza so maybe it’s just me.
And then there was this interesting bit of research – SPOILERS DON’T SPOIL ANYTHING – that claims that we like stories better when we know the ending. Really? If someone had told me the ending of Sixth Sense I don’t think I would have been too happy. 

But then again … I will admit I’m one of those weird people who actually enjoyed ‘Silence of the Lambs’ more the second time round.

What do you think?

I’d like to leave you with the funniest video I’ve seen all week. Here’s two Scottish guys trying to work a voice recognition elevator. It had me rolling on the floor.

I hope you enjoyed that. I also hope you all have a fantastic, safe and peaceful Christmas break. And whatever you do, don’t steal your family’s baby Jesus!

About colinfalconer

author of bestselling historical novels like Anastasia, When We Were Gods, Aztec and Harem. My books have been published in the UK, US and ANZ and translated into seventeen languages.
This entry was posted in MASH and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to IF IT’S FRIDAY IT MUST BE MASH

  1. Thanks for the laugh Colin–have a great holiday!

  2. Love the guys in the elevator!! By the way, Russell Crowe has two Ls in his name!

  3. Saw the Mafia Babies before dub…it was going around as proof that twins have their own language! Brilliant translation. I had tears down my cheeks. And the Scottish guys in the elevator — my husband's from West London. He can't even get his bank balance over the phone here in California! Thanks for the laughs, Colin.

  4. Thanks Colleen, thanks Gillian – and for the heads up on the typo … it's been up there for months and you're the first one that's noticed – I hope! It reminded me of a funny story. (I'll keep it for another post.) I'm glad you liked the guys in the elevator too Debra – and being from London and with an Australian accent on top of that, I know what you mean. I have a hell of time in New York!

  5. An overdue thanks for the

  6. An overdue thanks for the shout out! Funny I should see this today… I’ve been pondering Christmas– just 7 months away. 😉

    • Oh God, only seven months? Why does it come round quicker every year? And my pleasure for the shout I’ve been following your blog for a while now, I would have included more but I stopped the mashes for a while.

Leave a Reply

