ARE WOMEN SMARTER THAN MEN?

Are women smarter than men?

Despite all those blonde jokes, I’ve always thought so. Here’s an example of what I mean.

I’ll give my closing arguments to my case at the end of the blog: but first, onto something more serious.

If you even so much as think about getting into a car and driving it, you have to see this.

It’s from Kristy James, who knows what it’s like to be on the wrong end of a bad driver; she had her van totaled when someone ran a red light. She was in physiotherapy for 9 months. Natalie Harford has written about this subject too; she lost her mother in law to a drunk driver.

Even if you think you’re a good driver; even if you don’t drink and drive (or text and drive which is every bit as bad); it won’t hurt to consider some of the scenarios in this video and remember how easy it is to destroy a life.

I worked on an ambulance for thirteen years. I never once had a patient on my gurney who didn’t say to me: “I can’t believe that just happened.”

Watch the video and believe.

On a lighter note: 

Budapest is the capital of which European country? If you know, then you’ll enjoy this very funny post from Donna Newton. It’s about some of the crazy answers contestants produce on TV game shows.

WARNING: read only if you want to feel intelligent.

superheroes!

And for all you folk who dream about being a superhero: have you ever considered THE COST?? If not, then this sobering post about Batman’s overhead may make you think twice. Spiderman is probably going to be a cheaper option.

Though I do think the Kevlar Nomex Groin Armour is a snip at just a thousand bucks.

selling books!

Last week we looked at Ellen deGeneres’ take on 50 Shades of Grey. If you’re not 50 shades sick of it already, like I am, have a look at this photograph of a brilliant piece of book marketing by some enterprising bookstore manager at ASDA in the UK.

On the reverse of that here’s Anne Allen’s advice on How To Get Your Book Rejected: A Former Big 6 Editor Gives 5 Tips for Sure-Fire Rejection. If you’re determined to fail, you’re sure to find some sure-fire tips right here.

over commercialized sport!

Now unless you’ve been orbiting Mars for the last week, you’ll know the Olympics are on in London. Here’s the 25 Most Absurd Moments Of The Olympic Opening Ceremony

But it gets better. Here’s the 28 people with the most absurd names competing in London right now.

My favourites are Kim Yoo Suk (but Kim made the South Korean Olympic team so he can’t be that bad) and Dong Dong, who’s in China’s trampoline team – is that the sound he makes as he bounces up and down?

And for a look at the history of the Olympics, see my post here:

And here’s the conclusive proof: why women are smarter than men, part 2.

I hope you enjoyed my post. And because I want to see you all back here regularly, I am offering a free copy of Looking for Mr. Goodstory to anyone who joins my blog! It’s a collection of my favorite blog posts over the last six months – all you have to do is join up, then write to me at colin underscore falconer underscore author at hotmail dot com. I’ll send you a copy as a mobi Epub or PDF file!

Colin Falconer, historical fiction

About colinfalconer

author of bestselling historical novels like Anastasia, When We Were Gods, Aztec and Harem. My books have been published in the UK, US and ANZ and translated into seventeen languages.
This entry was posted in HUMOR, MASH and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to ARE WOMEN SMARTER THAN MEN?

  1. prudencemacleod says:

    Colin, I have to say I loved the women are smarter than men video clips, great for a laugh, but it was the link to the auto accidents vid that gave me serious chills. Inattention kills. Excellent as usual, Sir. Well done.

    • It was a sobering video, wasn’t it? Kristy and Natalie have both blogged a bit on this subject, because it has touched both their lives. The video was hard to watch, but I think it brings it home to all of us never to be complacent when we’re sitting behind the wheel of what is basically a lethal machine. ‘Serious chills’ – spot on.

  2. OMG those videos are STELLAR!!!!! LOL!!!

    I hadn’t read Kristy’s post so thank you for linking to it. What a powerful video and I am so thankful that you shared her story and my own with your readers. It’s such an important message to get out there and I can’t say it enough how much I appreciate the support!

    Great piles of resources and links. I am off to check them out! 🙂

  3. Thanks so much, Colin, for helping to spread the word about people needing to pay attention while driving. I don’t know why this video affected me so much more than others I’ve seen, but it did. And I’m glad it’s affecting others.

    LOVED the videos…especially the first one. I laughed until I cried. But yeah, Kelly Pickler is proof that ‘dumb’ can be found on both sides of the fence. 🙂

  4. Donna Newton says:

    LOL. Love the video with the room key. Personally, after the guy left for his room, I would have moved to his table… it looked way cooler than the one she had 🙂 Great post, Colin and thanks for the link. xx

  5. too funny. I loved them.

  6. corajramos says:

    Thanks for the laughs, and the sobering moments. Good mash-up.

Leave a Reply

